Hopefully less stressful!

In August, the same day the fall semester started for Penn State, I scheduled my classes.

That was such a stressful day! I moved out of Seton Hill on Sunday, and the next day I had to drive back to return my room key, fancy iPad, and books. Then I drove to Penn State and re-enrolled, quickly scheduled what ever I could that was left,  bought my books, and somehow made it to two classes. I had been enrolled at two colleges in the same day.

I ended up getting an interesting schedule.

At first, I thought that the times/days of my schedule would be hard, but I quickly adjusted. What was hard was the actual classes.

Why did I schedule economics, microbiology, rhetoric, a computer class, and news writing all in the same semester?! I had no choice because I scheduled so late. From late August until still today, I have been working my butt off just to keep up with most of my classes.

I thought that microbiology would be insanely hard. I eneded up LOVING it!

I thought the computer class and economics would be managable. I was wrong.

News writing and rhetoric kept me busy with so many homework assignemnts.

As the semester wore on, I began to feel bad for Jimmy, my family, and friends. I spent so many weekends trying to catch up on school work and had little to no time for anything else. When it came time to schedule for this semester, I was determined to make my schedule less stressful.

For the spring semester I scheduled kinesiology, creative writing, an online writing for the web course, Spanish II, and a communications course.

*

Here is to hoping next semester is less stressful!!

*

Have you ever had a really bad/hard schedule?!

21 comments

  1. oh you sound like me when I was in college! i had to crawl through computer science with the help of another geek! haha. Microbiology was fun though.
    Hope you get a nice xmas break friend. xoxo

  2. I have a super busy schedule at the moment – working two jobs both pretty much every day. I start at 8am and finish around 7pm. It’s just for this month though, so it’s not too overwhelming.

  3. Wishing a less stressful semester. I was tossing and turning last night trying to figure out what I want to do for the spring semester…it can be a hard balance. Good luck!

  4. Ugh I feel your pain!! Last fall (2010), I had:
    Intro to Nursing – 2 credits
    General Chemistry + Lab – 4 credits
    Anatomy & Physiology + Lab – 4 credits
    Psychology – 3 credits
    Nutrition – 3 credits

    HORRIBLE. No idea why I did that to myself. BUT…it made the spring feel like a breeze. haha!

  5. I never had a crazy hard schedule, but I did have some really busy semesters as a bio major (I was for two years). I had Chemistry, Anatomy, Honors English, International Studies, and Music Appreciation all in one semester… 4 classes back to back on MWF, it was really tough. 17 credit hours… and I wound up getting super burnt out. But, it made that next semester seem much easier :).

    Your schedule for this semester seems much more manageable! Really glad for you!

  6. Scheduling is a box of chocolates…you never know what you’re gonna get. I always end up choosing courses that sound cool versus the easy ones. It’s made my senior year a lot harder and more stressful, but I’m paying for this schooling so I want to make it worth it!

  7. Yay creative writing 😀 Your schedule looks pretty good… mine is hectic. I don’t have class mon/fri, and I have class from 10am-10pm on tues and thurs. O_O not looking forward to it…

  8. Your future schedule is looking bright! One class tuesdays and thursdays! Awesome!

    I had a semester with Neuroanatomy and that class was HARD!! I bombed one test (got a 78%) and had to pull off a 91% on the final to keep an A. Well I stressed myself out so much that I was crying and breaking down the day before the final. Turns out all of my hard work paid off because I got a 93% in a class that several people were struggling to just PASS…including my fiance! 😉

    That was my hardest schedule ever…and I will never, ever forget that found of finals.

  9. Wow the first semester sounds like it was crazy! I’m sure you can take away a lot of lessons from it though, beyond what you learned in class – more like time management and coping with stress skills!! Your new schedule sounds like something I would like to take 🙂

Leave a comment