Around the internet

Hey hey! Did everyone have a nice weekend? We celebrated Labor Day on Monday here in the U.S., and it was lovely.

Over the weekend, Jimmy and I went swimming at my mom and dad’s house on Saturday, Hannah slept over our house on Sunday, and my parents came over on Monday. I really enjoyed all of the family time! I only took a few pictures, but I think they’re worth a thousand words…

1 2 3
Plenty of food, dogs, and Call of Duty. An amazing weekend indeed.

Today I want to share some links from around the internet

Animals

5 Ways to Keep Your Indoor Cat Purring – A few ways to have fun with your indoor cat. Number four is such a good idea!

11 Things Your Dog Wishes You Would Stop Doing at the Dog Park – How to not be “that” human. Too funny.

Five Life-Lengthening Health Tips for Your Pet – Some awesome tips from PetMD. Numbers four and five are ones that are probably overlooked a lot, but are super important.

Photography

10 Quick Tips for Taking Better Photos With Your iPhone – I take 99% of my pictures with my iPhone, so this was a great read for me. With that said, you can apply these tips for non-phone photography as well!

Tips for Organizing and Storing Photos – A few different ideas (both digital and print) for storing your precious pictures.

Instantly Up Your Instagram Game With These Simple Tricks – “Camera phones, further enabled by Instagram, are capable of producing gorgeous photos these days, but most of us don’t know how to harness their true power.”

Food

Growing Vegetables into Fall and Winter – The Farmer’s Almanac website gives great tips on gardening in cooler weather. Some of the best plants to grow in the fall and winter include spinach, kale, and chard. Yum!

Budget Meals: Feed 4 for $10 – This link includes over 100 budget friendly recipes from Cooking Light. I really want to try the savory baked apples and Indian-spiced lentils and lamb.

How to Keep Bananas from Turning Brown – I always buy a bunch of bananas at the grocery store each week and they end up turning brown in about two days. Great for banana bread, but not great for this almost-green banana lover. I tried this method out and it worked! The picture below was taken a few days after I gave it a try. Score đŸ™‚

4

Faith

Scandalous News: You’re Allowed to Disappoint People – “Sometimes you have to disappoint people in the short-term so you can love them well in the long-term.”

Coming Out of a Fog: The Need for Renewal – Have you had a super busy season in your life recently? This post is for you. It has a few tips for coming out of a busy time that are simple, but really invigorating.

Do the Crazy – “Do the kind of crazy that looks beautiful from above and strange down here. It’s what the world calls crazy, but we just know it as Spirit whispered obedience.” I love that this includes a few examples of people in the Bible who did crazy things that God asked them to do!

Have you read anything interesting on the internet lately? Feel free to share in the comments!

P.S. Want to win free granola? Check out this post!

17 comments

    1. Same here! I’m always trying to improve my iPhone skills since that’s pretty much what I use to take pictures!

      I definitely had an awesome weekend! I can’t believe it’s almost time for the weekend again. Score!

  1. I always enjoy these posts and learning what other people like to read. Like you, I need help taking iphone photos…mine are just terrible. I was just reading that article and loved it so thanks for sharing with others and I think I will share it as well.

    1. My iPhone photos are always pretty rough. Thank goodness for editing apps, haha! I was definitely excited to share that link in case anyone else had the same struggles as me!

  2. I refuse to take iPhone photos now! After getting my dSLR I can’t go back. I’ve heard that tip with bananas, but I won’t need it because I like mine with brown spots đŸ™‚

  3. That dog park article was cute! Also, I’ve never heard of that with the bananas! So cool that it actually works!

  4. Aw your weekend looked perfect! Love all those puppies! Soooo many good links, I’m still reading through them. The camera one is great, I’ve recently discovered editing with saturation/contrast, etc (I’m behind the times haha) but I love the richness and quality they bring to the photographs. And yesss to the banana trick! I’ve made two loaves of banana bread in the past month bc my bananas keep going to mush.

    Hope you have a great week!

Leave a comment