Here We Go

So many awesome things are going to happen this year!

Just thinking about everything has me grinning from ear to ear while continually thanking God for every single thing in my life. The events that have happened, are going to happen (Lord willing), the people I love, and awesome experiences I’ve been through leave me feeling so happy and blessed. God is gooood!

Some fun memories from 2013!

Some fun memories from 2013!

Some things on the agenda for me in 2014:
-Graduating from Penn State (either in May or December)
-Getting married <333
-Finding a home
-Buying a puppy (or two.. more on this later!)

While thinking about everything going on in 2014, I was tempted to not make any goals for the year, but I realized that I truly enjoy realistic goals.

So, here are my goals for 2014!

Life Goals for 2014
1. Stop expecting perfection from myself. I have this medical condition called I-want-to-do-everything-syndrome. It causes me to try to take on too much (while simultaneously trying to do all of these things perfectly), thus burning myself out. I am an all-around better person when I take on what I can handle, and more importantly, let myself do things imperfectly. Do I need to achieve a 4.0? Nope. Do I absolutely have to walk Lola everyday? No. Do I have to attend every class? No. You get the point!
2. Bake more difficult recipes. I’m currently working on my baking bucket list, which mostly includes recipes involving the oh-so-scary yeast. This is such a fun goal for me!
3. Travel with Jimmy. Once we’re married, we want to go camping, visit Nemacolin Woodlands Resort, go to an indoor water park, and take cycling trip on the Great Allegheny Passage. So exciting!!

Spiritual Goals for 2014
1. Read the Old Testament. In 2012, I read the whole Bible. In 2013, I read the New Testament. This year’s goal just seems logical to me. I love reading the amazing stories of faith the Old Testament! Some of my personal favorites are EstherDaniel, and Ruth.
2. Trust God. I’m not saying that I don’t trust God, but I can definitely work on this in 2014. As I mentioned, I have a lot of awesome things happening this year. Though exciting, all of these life events involve big changes, from where I will live to what I will be doing on a day-to-day basis. It’s so easy to worry until I’m paralyzed with fear and can’t make decisions. Instead, I want to focus on trusting that God has everything planned out perfectly. I need to roll with the punches. He’s in charge, and I have no reason to worry over the future. It will all work out in His time and ways.

Fitness Goals for 2014
1. Run in some road races. I didn’t compete in a lot of races in 2013, so I’d like to run in a few (and maybe PR?!) in 2014! I also think it would be fun to travel to a destination race if possible.
2. Try running with Brandy or Moses. Brandy is my sister’s cocker spaniel puppy and Moses is my brother’s white English retriever. I’ve heard both of these breeds make pretty good running partners, so I’d like to try to run with either of them at least once. This will probably be a short-lived goal since I will be moving away in June and I don’t run outside unless it’s semi-warm (50°F and up!), haha!

As always, I’m beginning my challenge of attempting to read 50 books in a year. I haven’t done this yet (I read 44 in 2013…so close!), but I’m still continuing to try because it pushes me to read more. Feel free to join in on the fun!

What are your goals for 2014?

25 comments

  1. Wow, it sounds like you have a fantastic year ahead of you!! It’s so exciting that you are getting married this year, and I am very happy for you both:) I definitely need to work on my perfectionism as well, since I also tend to beat myself up for not being flawless in everything I attempt to do. Your travel plans sound like so much fun, especially the cycling trip, since I love doing outdoor activities like hiking and bike riding. Your book challenge sounds great as well–reading more books is always a good thing. I wish you all the best for the upcoming year!

    1. Thank you! I am so excited for this year! It is definitely easy to beat ourselves up, huh? I am the worst with telling friends and family that no one expects them to be perfect, and then I expect myself to do everything right. It doesn’t make sense! And yes, I am super excited for the possible cycling trip and of course, more reading in 2014!

  2. every year I set a goal of reading more. I really want to be able to do it this year but am not sure what to set. instead I am just telling myself to spend more quality time with me, whether that is reading, walking or just practicing the silence. I can’t wait to see what this year has in store. and i Hope there are multiple puppies… haha

  3. Love your goals! Since you nailed them all for 2013, I have no doubt you’ll do it again this year! It’s going to be a big one for you, I cannot wait to follow your journey 🙂

    1. Thank you, Sarah! It’s definitely going to be a big year! It’s going to be a big on for you, too with graduating and the job search! I’m so excited for you 🙂

  4. You had a really great 2013 and I love your photo collage :). It was a busy year for ya.

    Good luck with your 2014 goals. I understand about wanting to do everything. One of my regrets from college was not missing some classes, actually. i know that sounds weird, but there were definitely times I *needed* a mental health break and did not take it. As far as a 4.0 goes, GPA does matter but as a writer, it’s not as important as some majors to get into grad school or something. In fact, I can say probably the thing that contributed least to my job success in my career is GPA! More about the connections I made in college.

    I hope you find some good road races to run! Kudos to you for doing them with the hills and cold up there, brr!

    1. Thank you! It was fun to put the collage together! Definitely a busy year. I hope this year is less busy, but I know that’s not going to be true haha!!

      It was cool to hear that one of your regrets was not missing classes! I am going to think about that when I want to skip 🙂

      I am so dreading running in cold races! EEK!

  5. You have some really awesome things to look forward to 😀
    Maybe you should find a dog race where you can run with your dog (I have seriously heard of them before!!).

  6. That sounds like an amazing year already planned. I’m so excited to come to your wedding and watch you enter a new chapter in your life. You are seriously awesome Allie and 2014 will be a great year for you.

    1. I feel the same way! I am super excited! I can’t wait to see you, too!! I’m also excited to see what 2014 has in store for you and Tim and your running career!

  7. PUPPIES?! I am excited to hear more about this! And I am soooo excited about you guys’ upcoming marriage! What a wonderful year this will be. 🙂

    1. Yes.. possibly puppies. Like two. Oh my goodness!! I keep thinking, what are we getting ourselves into haha!

      I can’t wait to see what 2014 has in store for you and Christopher!!

    1. Thanks, Amy! I am super excited for this year! So many HUGE life events! It’s crazy to think about!

      I can’t wait to see what 2014 has in store for you 🙂

  8. It sounds like you are going to have the most amazing year! I love following along on your blog… I don’t get on to comment much but I read every post still. 🙂 Your goals sound great. I’m definitely with you on the perfectionism – I always have to stop and ask myself “what is the absolute *worst* that can happen if I do/don’t do this?” It’s usually not the end of the world!
    Your goals of traveling with Jimmy sound really fun too! And yay puppies!

Leave a comment