Granola gift

I was tired of doing homework one night last week, so I decided to bake a little gift for Jimmy–no particular reason. Just because I love him and he mentioned that he wanted to try chocolate granola recently.

granola3

Here’s the recipe!

Chocolate Granola
Ingredients:
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 Tbs creamy peanut butter
3 Tbs honey
2 Tbs butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups old fashioned oats
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips, chopped
1/4 cup raisins

Directions:
1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray.
2. Combine brown sugar, peanut butter, honey, butter, and vanilla in a small bowl. Microwave in 30 second increments until all ingredients are melted. Stir until smooth.
3. In a large bowl, combine the oats, almonds, and cinnamon. Add the wet mixture to the dry, and stir until combined.
4. Bake for 15 minutes, and then “stir” or “flip” the granola with a spatula. Bake 3-5 more minutes, or until browned.
5. Remove the granola from the oven and let it cool completely. Add chocolate chips and raisins to granola and enjoy!

granola1

After the granola cooled, I put some in a mason jar. I made a little “I love you” note, attached it to a ribbon, and tied the ribbon around the jar. I think I enjoyed this girly touch more than Jimmy.

He loved the granola, though!

granola2

I know I say this constantly, but I love baking! It’s just so relaxing, and makes me genuinely happy. Plus, I love showing my love for others by creating baked goods they enjoy. It’s a win-win situation!

Do you bake? What do you like to bake?
I really enjoy baking cookies and quick breads.

29 comments

  1. I LOVE baking, it’s almost therapeutic for me at times. I think your presentation in the mason jar is adorable, and I would have lovedddd getting one of these!! Yum!

  2. I love the idea of baking and I like the actual baking part – until the cleanup time. I also dislike shopping for all the STUFF that’s necessary to bake.

    Your presentation is awesome! I’m glad that the granola was a hit.

  3. I love baking! It can be cookies, cakes, pies, brownies, scones, or anything else! It is so relaxing and whenever I have a really bad day, it will most likely end with me in the kitchen. I don’t know why but it just feels good to be making something for other people which tastes GOOD!

  4. Ah, you are the best FIANCE ever! (I love being able to say that :))

    I love baking, too, especially when I’m stressed. I feel like there’s something so magical about putting benign things into a bowl but having magical smells and delicious sweets a little while later!

  5. I totally bake to relax!!! 🙂 And I love how it not only calms me down, but it also makes others happy too. 🙂 I have never made granola, but I am going to totally try this!! (Pinning the recipe now). 🙂 My hubby is allergic to nuts, but I figured that I could use soy butter instead of the PB. Thanks so much for sharing! (Oh, and I LOVE the mason jar and ribbon. Too cute!).

  6. Aww, that’s so sweet! And that granola looks delicious…Jimmy is one lucky guy! And I would definitely say that baking is way better than doing homework. I love to bake, and also find it very relaxing!

Leave a comment