Three fun things to do this month

So, it’s August. That’s weird.

August

A beautiful August sunrise.

My sister is the inspiration for this post. I was thinking about how she goes back to school this month and has been squeezing in all sorts of fun summer activities before she hits the books again. She inspired me to come up with a list of fun things to do this month.

Three fun things to do this month

1. Have a picnic

Eating outside in the summer is the best! Have a picnic in your backyard or at a local park. Pack summer produce like watermelon and corn on the cob (<– my personal favorites). Bring along your dog or a frisbee and spend some time playing in the sunshine.

picnic

2. Complete an outdoor project

Do a project that you can only do outside. Garden, work on a house project you’ve been putting off, or wash your car. Here’s a link to a ton of ideas. I personally need to weed mine and Jimmy’s front and back yard. Here’s to doing it this month!

3. Go somewhere

It doesn’t have to be far away or expensive. Go hiking, mini golfing, fishing, stargazing, or camping. You can also go to a baseball game, concert, carnival, amusement park, or farmer’s market.

Go fishing or find a trail to hike on!

Go fishing or find a trail to hike on!

What do you like to do during the summer?
I love having¬†bonfires, riding my bike, and swimming in my parent’s pool!

30 comments

  1. It looks like you guys have a really fun area for a picnic, too. The pictures of where you live are so pretty and so different looking from the lowcountry of SC. I totally agree that it’s neat to think of a few fun things to do at the beginning of each month, too :).

    1. Oh yes, there are a ton of parks and trails around us! We love having picnics. It’s just so refreshing, you know? I also think it’s so cool how different places in the US can look so totally different from each other. I still want to visit SC (and Savannah) so, so badly! If I go on vacation in SC one day we are totally running together (or going out to eat… lol..). I think there’s just something about the beginning of the month that is exciting and inspiring.. it makes me happy just thinking about all of the possibilities!

      1. Come visit Charleston and we can run and eat together- tons of places to run here and also lots of great food, haha! I think you’d really like doing a half or full marathon here because we have several in the winter months so it would be a nice break from PA when it’s cold :).

  2. The summer is a great time for leisurely strolls after dinner. It’s still light out and it’s warm. I also take time to appreciate the rain. It’s warm rain and the world smells so fresh afterwards :)

    1. You are so good at just getting out there and doing things! I love experiencing the PNW via your blog and I really want to visit one day! Maybe we can hike together … if I can keep up with you ;)

  3. It’s so crazy it’s already August! I was just reflecting on my summer today and realized how very lucky I’ve been to do some really cool things these past few months. I’m so grateful for the friends who made it possible.

  4. HOW is it August already?! So crazy. Although I don’t go back to school until after Labor Day! I just realized… are you going to change your blog name now that you have a different last name? lol!

    1. I don’t even know. INSANE! I’m glad you don’t have to go back to school until after Labor Day! That’s good!! My sister goes back on August 20th, I believe. Way too soon! As for my blog… I have no idea what to do haha!

Leave a Reply

