Our new family members

Hi guys! Jimmy and I went from being a family of two to a family of four last weekend! Meet our new family members, Ford and Scout.

1

Ever since Jimmy and I began dating in 2008, he would always tell how badly he wanted to own a Siberian Husky. We talked about it constantly over the years, and decided to make it a reality eleven months ago by putting a deposit down on a puppy for this summer way back in August 2013.

2

Before putting a deposit down, we did some serious research on Siberians. They’re definitely not for everyone because they’re escape artists (they will dig under or jump over fences if possible), need tons of exercise, can be destructive (if not exercised!), don’t get along with small animals like cats, and shed a lot. We educated ourselves about the breed and decided that we were okay with all of the above.

We had been in touch with an awesome breeder, Lauradale’s Siberians, for a long time, so we knew that we were going to get a puppy that was in good health from a reputable breeder. Over the winter, Jimmy talked me into putting a deposit down on another puppy so that we could have two pups that would grow up together. It wasn’t too hard for him to talk me into it since I’m such a dog lover :).

3

Our puppies were born in May and we picked them up when they were eight-weeks-old. Our breeder sent us pictures of them as they grew and we discussed their personalities a bit, too. They definitely have totally different personalities!

Ford

Ford is such a sweet little guy. He’s happy to sit on our laps and relax and he’s a bit of a cry baby if he misses us or wants to come inside. He’s kind of shy, but once he warms up to people he lays on his back so they’ll pet him, haha.

Scout

Scout is definitely your “typical” Siberian Husky. She’s super independent (though she does like to sleep by my feet sometimes!) and high energy. She loves meeting new people and has already been chasing rabbits and birds on her walks!

The first two nights home with Scout and Ford were tough. We’re crate training them and read that it’s important for a dog to have his/her own crate, so we are crating them separately. Ford didn’t like being away from his sister at all so he cried and cried. They’re doing much better now, though!

I was cheesin' SO HARD when we brought them home, haha.

I was cheesin’ SO HARD when we brought them home, haha.

Housebreaking is going as well as it can! I always forget how tough it is. I’ve read so much about it that I’m kind of a freak. I don’t let them out of my sight when we’re in the house. If they start to go to the bathroom inside, I take them out right away and praise them when they finish outside. Ford loves the praise and Scout could care less, haha.

Having two puppies is definitely twice the work. Honestly, it feels like a full-time job sometimes, but I kind of love it… a lot. We’ve had a few moments of “What did we get ourselves into?!” thoughts, but we’re just so happy that we have two cute little buddies under our roof :).

5 6

We’re definitely becoming those dog owners because we were just talking about getting a baby monitor–yikes! But really, we’re just super committed to taking care of our pups and raising them right. Raising two puppies is a huge responsibility, but we’re absolutely loving it!

7 8 9

We’re so excited to watch Ford and Scout grow up together!

29 comments

    1. Thanks, Amy!! Doubling in size has been fun, hectic, scary, and hilarious all at the time time! We’re just starting to get the hang of things and get into somewhat of a routine. Whew!

  1. Awwww, how CUTE!!!!!! :) I love dogs, but we really don’t have a big enough yard for one. (Hence our owning two cats). So I hope you include lots of pics of your fur-babies growing up!! :) I love that you did so much research so that you can raise them right. It will probably end up being a much more enjoyable experience for you, because of it. (I remember when we adopted our cats, I second-guessed our decision at first, because they were so rambunctious! But now they are a part of the family, and I can’t imagine home without them). :)

    1. I think it’s good that you didn’t invest in dogs when you don’t have the yard for it. I feel like so many people get dogs without having a yard, and then the dog suffers, you know? Anyways, I wish we could own cats! They’re so much fun and stay somewhat tiny, plus they have the BEST personalities, haha!!

      1. I agree! It’s important to make sure you have the appropriate space / time needed for whatever animal you adopt. Your puppies are going to be so happy in your home!!! :) (You’re right about cats too. Some people say they’re boring, but my cats have the BIGGEST personalities. Ha, ha).

    1. Thank you, Brittany! I seriously can’t wait to take them on trails, runs, in water, etc! As soon as they finish up their shots I will be bringing them along on all kinds of adventures!! :)

    1. Thank you so much!! Yeah, we did a TON of research and decided that we were up for the challenge that is Siberian Huskies, haha. It’s not going to be easy, but I know it will be worth it. They’re already a lot of fun! Thank you for the compliment–that really means a lot to me because I try my best to be responsible, especially with animals!

  2. They are just too cute! You and Jimmy sound like such responsible owners. A lot of pet animals would be so much better off if their owners really took the time to learn about their needs and did their research beforehand!

    1. Thank you, P! That’s a huge compliment! I kind of stress out about being a good owner, haha. I worry that I’m not training them enough/feeding them the right amount/etc.! I guess it’s better to be over caring vs. oblivious, though ;)

  3. Oh my gosh! Too cute!!! And all the pictures.. I think I need a Siberian Husky! Although I don’t think it would get along too well with my kitties.. ;)

Leave a Reply

