Inspiration

One topic that has been on my mind lately is inspiration. What inspires you? Who inspires you? What do you do about it?

Someone that inspires me constantly, in many ways, is my dad.

1

My dad wasn’t raised as a Christian. He’s told me before that he doesn’t know where he would be today if he hadn’t become a Christian. I’m sure he had many habits and beliefs ingrained into his life before coming to know Christ.

Meeting him, one would likely never guess that he didn’t grow up in a church setting. He’s a deacon at our church, knows the Bible very well, and most importantly–truly lives the Christian life.

2

He was talking to me at dinner one night a few weeks ago and we got on the topic of giving. He said something that really resonated with me…

“God blesses you so that you can scatter, not gather.”

My dad is so good at scattering. When I think of someone who gives, and gives, and gives, I think of my dad. He inspires me.

3

He gives his time, resources, love, money, and advice freely. He’s always willing to help others. Always. He works so hard, too.

He runs two businesses and the success that God has given him is tithed right back to the church to benefit others. He is so busy, often working 12 hour days, and still finds time to help neighbors and friends with odd jobs like plumbing, painting, and electric work. He’s prayed with me, for me, and for others at weddings and get togethers.

He raised three children to love God. He spoils his wife. He served his country in the U.S. Navy. There was also that one time he paid for a woman’s hair cap to prevent her from losing her hair during chemotherapy treatments. I could go on and on.

IMG_5484

My point is that my dad inspires me because he knows that God has blessed him and he uses every single blessing in his life to help and serve others. He inspires me to use all of my time, resources, and talents to serve God and others.

Who inspires you?

11 comments

  1. What a fantastic post!! Your dad sounds like a truly wonderful person! My parents both inspire me as well in different ways, I’d be lost without them!

  2. This was an absolutely beautiful post!! And I truly believe that God blesses your dad, because he is so faithful. I’ve seen it so many times before. It doesn’t really make sense that the more you give away, the more God will bless you with. But that’s the way God works. :) And God knows that the more He gives to your dad, the more your dad will use that to bless others. Your dad sounds like such an amazing person!! :)

    1. Thank you so much, Nicole! I agree with you on God blessing my dad for his faithfulness! It’s truly amazing to see and I love the way God works like that–so different from what people would expect! My dad is definitely amazing and he owes it all to God!

Leave a Reply

