More life lately

Hi! I recently posted a little bit about what life has been like lately, but I have more to share. Without further ado, here are eight random thoughts/happenings from my life lately…

1. I’m enjoying being an intern! I’m interning at a law office that does a lot of work in the oil and gas industry, and it’s definitely a cool experience. I’m learning new lingo, web programs, and doing some journalism-type work, too. I also love the fact that I can eat lunch outside.

Lunch Break

2. Along with my internship, I’m also completing an independent study for Penn State. The independent study is on freelance writing, and it’s definitely keeping me busy. I’m working on writing feature stories, pitch letters, and conducting interviews. Personally, I think the best part of the process is interviewing people–asking questions is one of my favorite things to do (just ask Jimmy… haha). It’s just amazing to meet new people, learn their story, and then write about it!

3. I had a blast babysitting Lola and Brandy two weekends ago while my parents and sister visited New York City. I missed them so, so much!

Lola and Brandy

4. I love cleaning. I have always enjoyed organizing and cleaning, but now that Jimmy and I have our own space, my love of cleaning has reached a whole new level. I adore the smell of Pine Sol and have a mild obsession with shining our floors.

5. I just heard that Sharknado 2 is coming out on July 30th. I’m seriously so excited. Watching Sharknado was partially what got me through a dry socket after having my wisdom teeth removed last summer, haha.

6. Jimmy and I have been married for over a month now. I am so blessed!

1

7. My church had a really great visitor from Good News Productions International at a recent Sunday night service and we learned about how different forms of media can be used for global evangelism. It was really inspiring!

8. Speaking of church, a couple from our church that Jimmy and I are really close with is getting married in September and we’re in their wedding. We had them over our house for lunch and a bridal shower planning session recently and it was awesome. I’m going to be baking cookies for the shower. Can’t wait!

Cookies

Alright, I better get going. I have some a lot of homework and intern work to do!

What’s going on in your life lately?

P.S. Congrats to Theresa J for winning the Spartan Race giveaway! I will be in touch with you ASAP!

21 comments

    1. Oh, it truly is so good!! Thank you! I will keep living it to the fullest!! You definitely inspire me to. And you make me want to visit the PNW and go hiking with you!

  1. It looks like you’ve been pretty busy with interning, dog sitting, and just getting used to married life. I wish I liked cleaning more because I really don’t and sometimes feel guilty about not taking better care of my investment (err, home). It’s not dirty so much, but it definitely looks lived-in.

    I love eating lunch outside! It’s super hot here for that, though. I need to start doing it again when it cools down.

    1. Oh yes, super busy lately!! It’s definitely a (mostly) fun type of busy, though. Thankfully, haha. I know what you mean about a house looking lived-in… but that’s okay! I house is meant to be lived in! I don’t like when houses are so immaculate that they feel cold and unwelcoming, you know?!

      Lunch outside is definitely awesome. Any meal outside, really. By the end September any outdoor eating days start to come to a close around these parts!

  2. A month already?! Time is just flying by! I’m so glad you guys are adjusting well to married life. I’m sure you have plenty of other people to talk to, but if you ever need to talk about any newly-married stuff, I’m glad to be a listening ear and give advice where I can. :) Even if it’s just to talk about how wonderful everything is – I’m here to listen. :)

    Also, your shoes are adorable!

    1. Seriously… time goes SO fast. Blows my mind, really. I will definitely send you an email or something because I’m sure I’ll want to talk!! Thank you for the compliment on my shoes, too :)

  3. I am also addicted to the smell of cleaning products! It is the only reason I would mop at my old job hahaha
    I cannot wait to read some of your interviews!

  4. That’s awesome you’re enjoying your internship so much! Happy for you and glad you found a nice fit! Awh I bet you miss the pups but it’s good to pet sit and see them often. Things sound good for you, I’m so happy for that :)

  5. So happy you’re enjoying the new life! That’s so cool you both are going to be in a wedding! And I’m sure the cookies will be awesome at the shower:)

  6. Eating outside in the summer is one of the best things to do, ever. I remember working last week and feeling so tired. After spending fifteen minutes out in the sun during my break, I felt rejuvenated enough to get through the final hours of my shift. I obviously can’t go a day without my daily dose of sun ;)

    Love that life for you is going so well. Love that picture of you and Jimmy together :)

    1. Yes, I totally agree!! The sun seriously recharges me, too! It makes me so happy and full of energy (or totally drained if I spend too much time in the sun/heat..lol). Hope all is going well for you :)

Leave a Reply

