Gifting

Father’s Day is on Sunday! I won’t able to see my dad on Father’s Day this year, but I wanted to post about the gift I made for him. I’m about 99% sure he doesn’t regularly read my blog, so hopefully he doesn’t see this before Father’s Day!

Oh hey. There's my dad riding a horse...

Oh hey. There’s my dad riding a horse…



I recently somehow and stumbled upon The Art of Manliness blog and saw that there was a tutorial on how to make a shoe shine box. I immediately emailed it to Jimmy and asked him if he could help me make it. I told him that I wanted to do everything myself, and just needed a little bit of his guidance. He was all for it so we headed to Lowes one Saturday and made a date of my little project!

This is a picture of how it’s supposed to look…

Basically, the box is made so that the user can loop a cloth between the rods and put their shoe on the handle of the box. The user would then shine their shoe with a back-and-forth pulling motion of their towel over the rods. Hopefully that makes sense… if not, here’s a link to a video example!

Here’s some pictures of the whole process…

1 2 34

I honestly had so much fun using power tools! The whole process of making the shoe shine box took time, and I used that time to reflect on how awesome my dad is. He’s such a hard worker. He’s giving and kind. He’s great at grilling, fishing, and doing pull ups. Most importantly, though, he (and my mom) introduced me to Christ. I am forever thankful to my dad (and mom) for that!

5 6 7

Making the shoe shine box wasn’t too complicated, especially with Jimmy’s help. It felt great to give my dad his gift and say “Hey, I spent a lot of time making this for you because I love you and I think you’ll like this!” haha.

8

I’m happy to report that he liked his gift, but what I really wanted him to grasp was how much I love an appreciate him! I wish I could repay him for all that he has done for me in my life, and how he has guided, prayed for, and loved me. I know a simple gift isn’t much, but I suppose it’s a start ;). So Dad, if you’re reading this…I love you. Happy Father’s Day!

13 comments

  1. What an amazing gift for your dad! I’m sure he loved it, not only for its practical purposes, but mostly because you put time and effort into making it yourself. :) Happy Father’s Day to your dad!!

Leave a Reply

