Pet Appreciation Week

Pet Appreciation Week is June 3-7! I’m pretty sure anyone who reads this blog knows that I adore animals. Pet Appreciation Week is all about celebrating our furry friends and the happiness they bring to us every day.

Pets

I was super excited that dogvacay.com got in touch with me and asked me to share an infographic that provides fun facts about dogs combined with a circuit workout that is inspired by a dog’s most common movements. Dogvacay.com is a website that allows dog lovers to connect with one another to find and provide dog daycare and boarding. Pretty neat if you ask me!

Get_Fit_Like_Fido

I was also asked to share some information about my exercise routine by answering some questions, so here we go!

Do you have a favorite exercise circuit?
My favorite exercise circuit is is doing speed drills while swimming–I like to do 50 yards of butterfly fast, and then 50 yards of freestyle slowly. I usually do that circuit five times through.

How do you cool down?
If I’m running, I’ll run around my neighborhood or on local trails and then come home and leash up Lola and Brandy for a quick walk. It’s a win-win situation for all of us because I get to cool down and the dogs get a walk!

How do you shake up your routine when transitioning through seasons?
In the spring and summer months I like to spend a lot of time outdoors. My favorite warm weather workout is definitely open water swimming at a big lake near my house. During fall, I run outside because I love the crisp, cool air. When winter hits, I spend more time inside and really focus on strength training.

Do you have any pets? Tell me about them!
Do you change up your workouts as the seasons change?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized :). Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Pet Appreciation Week

  1. Aww, yay for pet appreciation week! You know I’m all about that!

  2. What a lovely way to acknowledge the happiness that our pets bring us! People often underestimate all that pets do for us – it’s so important to take the time to remind ourselves!

  3. PETS ARE THE BEST. Absolutely, I appreciate the happiness and love that they bring to me. They are the best things in the world.

  4. Carli says:

    I had no idea it was Pet Appreciation Week (or that such a week even exists!) It definitely should, though! Pets bring so much happiness to the lives of their owners. Now that I am home from school for the summer, I am enjoying spending time with my cat, Teenie. She loves to cuddle!

    Hope you are well, Allie :)

    • allieksmith says:

      I agree… pets make me so, so happy! I feel like they know when I’ve had an especially rough day, too! I’m so happy you’re home to cuddle with your cat :)

  5. Ellie says:

    I am so happy you love animals so much! I can feel your genuine love for Lola! I have a question though that I don’t want you to take offense to because that is NOT MY INTENTION. How can you justify eating animals when you love them so much? It’s something I used to have a hard time understanding before I went vegan. I don’t believe God put animals on a continuum of less to most important. I think He has also provided ways for humans to survive and thrive without animal project consumption. What do you think Allie? :)

    • Missy says:

      I hear ya, Ellie. (Sorry to interject) I just want to chime in with “Lean not on your own understanding” which is something I have to remind myself when I am all the time trying to figure stuff out that I don’t “have”to.

    • allieksmith says:

      Hey Ellie! I’m glad you can feel my love for Lola, haha. Sometimes I feel like it radiates off of me and people probably get annoyed that I talk about her so, so much!

      Your question doesn’t offend me at all! I have no doubt that we can survive without consuming animals (you and many other people are great examples of that!). I also believe that the Bible makes it clear that there is a difference between human and animal life, and that God gave us animals to eat (see Genesis 1:29-30 and Genesis 1:9-5). If you’re interested in the point about humans and animals being different, check out this link https://answersingenesis.org/are-humans-animals/44-differences-between-human-life-and-animal-life-ob16/. I hope that helps!

      • Ellie says:

        Yes it says “I give every green plant for food.” I think God gave us animals to be stewards for them and provide protection. God gave Adam and Eve permission to eat off of any tree in the Garden of Eden (except the tree of good/evil) and only when sin entered the world and they were kicked out did they begin to hunt animals. I think it’s significant that animals began to be killed only after man first sinned.

      • allieksmith says:

        I guess we will just have to agree to disagree on this topic! I understand what you’re saying about people hunting animals after man first sinned. What’s important to me is that the New Testament clearly condones eating animals (see Acts 10:9-23; Jesus tells Peter to kill and eat). If we were to simply be stewards to animals and provide protection to them, then I don’t see why Jesus would tell Peter to kill and eat.

        The Old Testament is extremely important, but the New Testament is the new law that Christians follow, and there are examples of people eating meat, fish, honey, etc. I know that that is the theological side of the topic, and you also consider the emotional side–your love for animals. I guess I see people’s choice to be a vegan/vegetarian as a personal choice and I would never judge someone for that choice, but I don’t feel any shame for eating meat because the Bible does condone it. I also believe that one can love their pets, and animals in general and be okay with eating meat because God has made a clear distinction between man and animal.

      • Ellie says:

        You’re so knowledgeable Allie! I guess we will agree to disagree but I’m glad we can have an open conversation about this :)

      • allieksmith says:

        Thanks, Ellie! So are you!! I’m glad we could be open about our opinions in a friendly way, too :)

    • Just a thought, the Bible also says that we rule over the animals and the vegetation in the same way. He grouped them together.

      Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”

      God blessed them and said to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky and over every living creature that moves on the ground.” (Genesis 1:26, 28 NIV)

      God gives us the choice to eat whatever we want, but he doesn’t condone our food intake. In Acts 10, Peter had a dream about this exact topic.
      The voice spoke to him a second time, “Do not call anything impure that God has made clean.” (Acts 10:15 NIV)

      I am not trying to start an argument, but just trying to give my thoughts if they help with anything.

  6. Brittany says:

    Yay pet appreciation week!! I have two kitties and I just adore them to bits!

  7. Missy says:

    I definitely love swimming outdoors in the summer.

    I have a dog, Zoe and she is old so no working out for her other than walks. (0:

    • allieksmith says:

      Yes! Swimming outdoors in the summer is the best. Now, if I lived in FL, I think I’d stick to outdoor pools for fear of gators and crocs! You are hard core if you swim in lakes, etc. in FL!

      I love your little Zoe!! Such a cute lil thing :)

  8. Yay for pets! They just make people happier, yo. I love my two cats – they are family.

  9. Leigha says:

    I looove my kitties :) and I really can tell how much you love your pets! I don’t know what I’d do without my furry friends. I’d be so lonely!

    • allieksmith says:

      I always love when you post pictures of your cats! They are gorgeous, just like you!! I agree that I would be so lonely without my pets. They are such a big part of my life, haha!

Leave a Reply

