Kindness

I have been blown away by people’s kindness towards me lately. I think it’s very easy to feel jaded about humanity in general sometimes and to think that everyone is just looking out for themselves.

Flowers

I just want to share two different stories of how people have shown me kindness lately…

1. A woman at the gym I workout at asked me how my bridal shower was a few weeks ago. She also asked me if I received any china. I told her that the shower was amazing and that I didn’t receive any china. I showed her a few pictures and then went on my merry way.

She came up to me at the gym this morning and said “I want to give you my mother’s china set.” I was like what?! She explained that she already has two sets of china and that she wants me to have her mother’s set. I’m sure that every time Jimmy and I eat off of the china I will remember the wonderful woman at the gym who gave it to us because she wanted us to have it. I can’t wait to share that story with every guest that uses our china.

Flowers 2

2. Jimmy and I went to Bed Bath and Beyond yesterday to use gift cards that we received for my bridal shower. We bought some things we know we will need in less than a month… a garbage can, shower curtain and liner, cutting board, utensil holder, toilet bowl brush, mop and bucket, etc.

We were standing in the checkout line in front of a woman and I felt her watching us as we began to check out. She asked us if we had any coupons and I told her that we had one for 20% off an item. She said “Do you have one for 20% off of everything?” and pushed her coupon towards me.

Again, I was like what?! My mouth dropped open because we honestly had a lot of stuff and 20% off of everything made a huge difference in the price of everything we bought. She told me that she had a ton of the coupons and proceeded to ask us about our wedding and wish us the best in the future. Wow. We ended up saving $46 because of the coupon she gave us. We only had to pay around $21 for a lot of household necessities because of the generosity and kindness of people who gave us gift cards and the woman who gave us the 20% off coupon. Amazing.

Yay for household items!

Yay for household items!

Have I ever mentioned that God is good? The awesome things that have happened to me lately have really made me aware of how I want to be as kind and giving as others have been to me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized :). Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Kindness

  1. Wow! Those are both such awesome examples of acts of kindness. And the coolest part to me? You’ll pay it forward and everyone who reads this post will be reminded to see good and do good. It’s a wonderful cycle!

  2. P says:

    Awesome! I love hearing/reading about acts of kindness. It really does put things into perspective and gives you hope when you need it :) . I’m sure any future guests you will have in your home will appreciate the china story!

    • allieksmith says:

      I’m glad you like to hear/read about these kinds of things! I agree that they bring hope! And yes, I really hope any guests in our future home will like the china story… it at least makes ME smile, haha!

  3. Nicole says:

    That is just SO great!! You’re right, sometimes it’s easy to forget that there are still really good people out there. :) (And how special that the woman from the gym gave you her china set!! That will make for a lovely story in the future). :)

  4. Amy Lauren says:

    That’s so awesome :). I love those BBB coupons and keep some, and have occasionally given them out to people in line who didn’t have them (btw, they never expire! Even if the date passes, the store still takes them). I’m glad it made your gift card go further.

    That china story is so neat, that the lady felt led to give it to you guys. It will be interesting to tell everyone who eats off of it too.

    • allieksmith says:

      This is going to seem weird, but I have actually never heard of BBB coupons for 20% off of everything. It’s amazing that they don’t expire, too! I think it’s awesome that you give out coupons, too!!

      • Amy Lauren says:

        Yeah, I think most are just for one item. I know after our wedding, they sent us one for 20% off everything that was on our registry that we didn’t receive already.

  5. Ellie says:

    That’s so great Allie! I love it when God provides in ways of random kindness!

  6. Brittany says:

    I love this so much, you deserve every ounce of this kind of kindness!! Thank you for sharing. :)

  7. That’s so nice! :) It reminds me of someone I know who, when it was her birthday, asked her Facebook friends to go out and do a random act of kindness for someone and then post what they did on her wall. I thought that was such a sweet idea!

  8. This is so lovely and makes me so happy for you Allie!

  9. How wonderful! I was amazing during my travels at how helpful people were. Especially since I had NO idea where I was most of the time.

  10. That is the sweetest of that lady!!! What a doll!! People can be so good :)

  11. Leigha says:

    This is just so amazing <3 it honestly made me so happy when I read it! Telling the story of your new china will be so cool in the future :) He amazes me everyday with the wonderful things He does!

  12. Corrie Anne says:

    Love your stories!!! So sweet that she gave you china!!!!

  13. B says:

    Aw, what amazing stories! It’s nice to read about some positive things for once!

  14. So so awesome!!! I love moments like these and I love that you shared them!!! :D

  15. Wow! This is incredible! I love to hear about generosity like this. :)

  16. There’s nothing more wonderful than a random act of kindness – it demonstrates the true goodness of mankind, and offers such reassurance! It’s wonderful to know that amidst all the hardships of life, there is still so much love and kindness out there!

  17. Beth says:

    Those are wonderful stories – and it says a lot about you that you recognized them and were grateful for them. People really are terrific, aren’t they?

  18. This made me smile so much! Love hearing about random acts of kindness!! :)

  19. Missy says:

    Love this! We all need to share moments like this more often!
    God is good. Good people attract good. (That means you).

  20. Pingback: Ford Cake | Allie's Life

Leave a Reply

