Thoughts and Pictures

Hello hello. Thank you to everyone who commented on my last post about wedding planning! I’m glad I shared :)

It’s been a week since I last posted. Weird. Here are some random thoughts/pictures from the week, organized into categories. Gotta love organization!!

School

This semester has definitely been keeping me busy. I’m enjoying my classes (aside from statistics…), so I don’t mind all of the reading and work. I’m especially love my Deaf Culture class. I can honestly say that I enjoy reading my textbooks for that class!

I'm currently learning about the grammar of American Sign Language!
I’m currently learning about the grammar of American Sign Language!

Jimmy and I spent hours in Panera Bread yesterday while I did some homework and reading. I’m sure sitting in Panera Bread with me all day while I study isn’t exactly Jimmy’s favorite way to spend a Saturday–he’s so awesome.

0100

As I mentioned before, statistics is tough for me. I’m not a “math person” at all, but I’m trying my best! I’m currently learning about standard deviation and finding the mean of a frequency distribution. The struggle is real.

0111

Monday (Feb. 3rd) will be the start of week 4 of the spring semester for Penn State. These past few weeks have gone by pretty fast, and I’m still working on getting the hang of this semester. I need to remember to just chill out and be easy on myself about everything school-related. I often take myself way too seriously and freak out about my workload. I have to remember that it’s just school, you know? Easier said than done for me, but I’m working on it!

Life

How can I talk about my life and not mention the weather in Pittsburgh?! I love talking about the weather (and I’m still bummed that I had to drop meteorology last spring semester┬áhaha!).

Anyways, Pittsburgh has been having a crazy winter. The temperatures have been way below average, and the snow accumulations have been way above average!

0001

I don’t mind the snow and cold too much. I think it’s just something that I have adapted to, you know? I think snow is gorgeous, and Lola and Brandy love it, too. Jimmy came over to my house a few Friday nights ago, and it was snowing soo hard. We walked Lola and Brandy in the snow/dark, and it was fun! It felt like we had the whole neighborhood to ourselves, and the falling snow was just beautiful. I also like how winter can seem so quiet… if that makes sense?!

018

I even bought a cheap reflective vest so I can walk Lola and Brandy at night after I get home from school!

Jimmy and I have been loving our premarital counseling. Our preacher is awesome, and he gives us worksheets and papers to work on and study as we prepare for our marriage.

0033

I feel like I have a million other things to discuss, but I’m going to hold off because this post is getting looong! So, bye bye for now. I hope everyone has a great day!

19 comments

  1. “I need to remember to just chill out and be easy on myself about everything school-related. I often take myself way too seriously and freak out about my workload” – this absolutely sounds like me! :)

    Good luck with your statistics module! I struggle with anything math-related too. It just doesn’t interest me.

    Enjoy the rest of your Sunday.

  2. You LIKE the snow?! Crazy girl!! Here in Michigan we’re getting way over the average too – I don’t like it because it makes it hard to run! I thought about learning sign language this year but then I chose French… although I can say a few things in sign language! :)

  3. I’m totally with ya on chilling about school. It is important, but it’s not worth crazy stress. Neither is a wedding, really. I’m glad you and Jimmy are finding balance in everything and it’s so nice of him to hang in Panera while you study. I bet the Deaf Studies class is really interesting too!

  4. Glad you are enjoying yourself. I really enjoyed stats and was a stats tutor through college so I’m always here to help (a bit far but here LOL). Anyways other then math it sounds like you are having a great time. I am not digging this winter either.

  5. OMG the weather here in Pittsburgh is always unreal. It could be blustery and wintry in the morning and spring in the afternoon. I swear, only city like this in the world. 6+ inches tomorrow into Wednesday too!?

    I’m glad school is going well. I remember starting the semesters so happy and excited about new classes and then almost wanting to die at the end of the semester. Good times. Keep on truckin’ you’re doing great! :)

    Also, I despise math. I’m terrible at it. I can’t even add the weight up right in Crossfit that I’m lifting. #thestruggleisreal

  6. You look like the cutest crossing guard ever!

    Yes, the quiet of winter. Even This South Florida Girl gets what you mean — when the temp drops the whole auro of the atmosphere outside is quiet — not to mention lots of less people about.

    And ugh. Statistics.
    I had to study every night and so all sorts of extra work but I got it and you will to!

  7. I am so glad that there are people like you who love the snow and quiet of winter. I knew there had to be. I mean, my husband is one of them, but he’s one of the few I know, haha! Most of my friends love spring or fall. And then there’s me… and I love summer. I mean, anything about 60 is fine, but May-August is my most favorite time of the year! :)

  8. I love winter, but I have to be honest and admit that I have been complaining about the snow / winter these past few days. ;) But snow falling IS so pretty, and I agree that winter can sound so quiet. (And I think that if you have to study, Panera has to be the best place to do it, because it’s so amazing! Ha, ha). :)

  9. Even though I am a student of science, I found my stats class to be less than stellar when I took it. If I have to take it again in grad school (most likely…) I hope I have a better experience!!

    A reflective vest is an awesome investment!

  10. Ohhh I hear you about the math girl. I only had to take one math class in college as a Comm major—it was easy peasy basic stuff and I STILL struggled. My brain just doesn’t work that way haha. Love your reflective vest! Safe AND looks adorable on you haha :D

  11. Ugh, I remember my stats class from undergrad Economics. I was thrilled when I had it behind me!
    And I’m so glad to hear you’re enjoying your pre-marriage classes. That’s definitely time well spent.

Leave a Reply

