Spring Semester So Far

How do you like the alliteration in my post title?! Haha. Anyways, hi.

Just another photo inside an RV. That was fun.
Hi. Just another photo inside an RV. That was fun.

It’s been about a week since I last blogged, but it feels much longer. Since the spring semester started, school has been keeping me very busy. I’m still reading everyone’s blogs, I just haven’t had a chance to comment! Hopefully, as I settle into my new routine and schedule, I will be able to find more time to blog and comment on blogs! Now onto the new semester…

I’m not sure how it happened this way, but last semester I only had communications classes, and actually completed all of the communications classes required to graduate with a journalism degree from Penn State. This semester, I have all general education classes. It’s definitely different!

Classes I’m taking this semester:
-Linguistics (the study of language)
-Kinesiology
-Statistics
-Environmental Science
-Deaf Culture

0022

My thoughts on the semester so far:

-My favorite class is Deaf Culture. I don’t know why I took it, but it has already opened my eyes to the types of challenges deaf people face each day. I keep talking my family’s ears off about everything I’m learning in this class.

-My least favorite class is statistics. I have put off taking this class my whole college career. Not smart. I need to earn a “C” or higher for it to count towards my degree, and I’m hoping to finish classes on campus this semester. If I fail this… I don’t know what I’m going to do.

-My classes all focus on reading and testing. Last semester, all of my classes focused on listening and writing. This is different! I like reading, so I think it’s going to be a-okay ;-).

-I am continually surprised at how much my courses all relate to each other, especially linguistics and deaf culture.

-I loaded up on five classes because I’m trying to finish my last few classes via email with my communications professors in the summer/fall since I don’t know where Jimmy and I will be living (more on that in another post!).

-I’m still the editor of the school paper and president of the newspaper club. I’m still working for my parent’s real estate brokerage. I’m still planning mine and Jimmy’s wedding, and we’re still house hunting. I am busy.

-I need to be very careful about not overworking myself. I tend to try to do everything, and do it all perfectly. I want to enjoy life, not push myself so hard that I just do, do, do instead of enjoy and experience.

Not too busy to enjoy winding roads and Starbucks dates with Jimmy!
I’m not too busy to enjoy winding roads and Starbucks dates with Jimmy!

So yeah, I think that’s about it. To sum it up, I’d say that I am enjoying my classes and this different type of semester. I wouldn’t say it’s easier than last semester because these courses are kind of “out of my realm,” but I also truly enjoy learning about different topics, and thinking about how I can apply them to whatever I do in the future, as well as my everyday life.

My life is very full right now, and I love it. I can’t wait to blog more about other things going on (wedding/future stuff), but until then I have some studying to do!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized :) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Spring Semester So Far

  1. Ooh, you’re taking a Linguistics class! I hope you enjoy it. As you know, I’m a big fan of Linguistics. If you want to discuss anything about it, let me know or send me an email. :)

  2. I feel ya on trying not to be to hard on myself….this semester is already proving to be more of a challenge than I thought and I’ve had to reassess and change a few things. Not something I normally would have done but I think it will be best for me in the future. Your classes sound really interesting!!

  3. Amy Lauren says:

    Good luck with classes this semester- 5 is a lot for senior year but at least you’re getting all the on campus ones out of the way. I never had to take statistics but Clay did, I think it’s pretty tough… deaf culture sounds fun and interesting though.

    Definitely take some time out and just enjoy things- don’t put too much pressure on yourself. I did that in college, and really, it doesn’t make a big difference in 5-6 years. I wish I’d had more crazy fun times and partied more instead of just trying to earn 4.0s.

  4. Allie! If you ever have any questions about stats, I was a stats tutor back in college! I know you are going to do awesome with your schooling and I cannot believe you are almost done. You have such an exciting next few months and year ahead!

  5. spectacuLAUR says:

    Stats is definitely hard if you’re doing ANYTHING outside of being a mathematics major. I totally understand your frustration! Like Hollie said, feel free to ask me any questions about it if it gets overwhelming. I want you to pass with flying colors so you can focus on getting hitched! ;-)

  6. Wow you sound busy! Good luck with it all :)

  7. Leigha says:

    Deaf culture sounds so interesting! It’s crazy how much deaf/blind people have to deal with. You sound like you’re really being smart about not overworking yourself and enjoying things, too! And I’m so excited for some of these future posts that are coming :)

  8. Kim says:

    I cannot wait to hear/read more about the wedding and house hunting stuff!! :)

  9. P says:

    Some of the best classes I took in college were my GE classes. I especially loved this Anthropology class I took since we had to read ethnographies about African and Brazilian cultures. Very eye-opening and interesting!

  10. So much excitement mixed in there!!! I want to hear more about your wedding planning :) I’m sure you’ll do awesome with your classes due to your motivation and drive to do well! Can’t wait to see how things unfold!

  11. You are a busy girl!! As usual. The Deaf Culture class sounds fascinating. Take care of yourself, girly, through this busy semester.

  12. B says:

    I’m sure you don’t need to be told this but if you feel you’re having issues with that one class, don’t wait too long before seeking help! :D

  13. Missy says:

    That is a HUGE change in classes for sure! But always learning what jives with us is key in college. Most important IMO is that snippet of abandoning the perfection Do All The Things reflection….I love that focus for you.

  14. Nicole says:

    Happy studying! And I cannot wait to hear more about wedding plans!! :)

  15. Ah, Starbucks dates are the best! :) I am excited to hear more details about wedding planning! :)

  16. Carli says:

    Hi, Allie, I’m just catching up on reading your blog after being away for awhile. Your classes for the semester do sound really interesting, especially Linguistics and Deaf Culture! I wish my college offered classes like that. I had to take two stats courses for my major (psychology), and while it’s not the most interesting subject matter, it wasn’t too bad (and this is coming from a girl who HATES math). I’m sure you’ll do fine!

    Can’t wait to read more about you and Jimmy’s wedding planning/house hunting!!!

  17. Pingback: Thoughts and Pictures | Allie's Life

Leave a Reply

