Adventures in Candle Making

I wasn’t really “into” candles until fairly recently. Once I realized how awesome they are, I became kind of addicted. I love burning a specific scent to match my mood, having one by me while I read or do homework, and I especially love seasonal candles.

Jimmy and I always end up in the candle section of stores like Target and Bath and Body Works to sniff all of their candles (seriously, every single one..), and my family and friends always know that candles are a great gift to give me.

Jimmy went above and beyond (as usual) the “typical candle gift” by giving me a candle making kit for Christmas. He’s so awesome. I think he was really intrigued, and wanted to learn how to make candles, so he gave me the kit partly so he could try it out. That’s my theory ;).

0066

It turns out that candle making is fairly simple. You melt wax, add fragrance and dye, pour the wax into a jar with a wick, and ta-da! You’ve got a candle! When Jimmy and I finished making our first batch of candles, we just stood there smiling at each other because we were delightfully surprised at how smoothly the process went. 

PicMonkey Collage

We made some wonderful blueberry cobbler and apple cinnamon scented candles before we had a bad experience.

I wasn’t feeling great on Sunday afternoon because I did something that wasn’t smart. I knowingly drank expired and curdled soy coffee creamer. I guess I thought it was okay since it had expired only a few days prior…?

We melted some wax to make a batch of brownie scented candles, and right before Jimmy put the fragrance in the wax, I was like “Man, I don’t think this is a good idea. I am going to smell that and just puke.” He didn’t really have a choice, though because he had to add the fragrance when the wax reached a certain temperature.

Well what do ya know, the second I smelled the brownie scent, I started puking. Fun times ;). I learned my lesson. Expired coffee creamer is not okay to drink! I also learned that Jimmy is so sweet (okay, I already knew that!). He finished making the candles, cleaned everything (the candle equipment/kitchen and removed the puke-filled garbage), took care of me all afternoon and evening. He even went to the store to buy new coffee creamer. What a stud.

0055

Aside from my “fun” little experience, I have been loving candle making! It’s a lot of fun to explore all of the different scent, dye, and wax options!

Have you ever made candles? 

25 comments

  1. “Jimmy and I always end up in the candle section of stores like Target and Bath and Body Works to sniff all of their candles (seriously, every single one..)” —> My sister and I love doing the same thing!

    We also like going to Bath and Body/Lush/etc. and lathering on the free lotion samples :P

    1. It really is. I hate that feeling just before I puke, too. It’s like ugh… this sucks haha.

      I do have a winner of a fiancee! I love him so much :)

      I don’t think the brownie scent has been ruined for me forever, haha. I sniffed the candle the other day and had no hard feelings towards it ;)

    1. It was pretty miserable, haha!! The rest of candle making has definitely been fun :) I bet it was so nice to get a candle from your sis! I’m sure it was very special, as I cherish anything my sister gives me :)

  2. I love candles too and this kit looks pretty awesome and easy! Sorry about that expired creamer though! Blah. At least it wasn’t anything worse, like the flu!

  3. I love that Jimmy thought outside the box and got you a fun and unique gift!! I almost always have a candle burning in the house. My favorite are the sweet desserty smelling ones! Happy candle making :)

  4. I made candles as a little girl, and they came out SO bad…. but at the time I thought they were absolutely precious! Ha, ha. :) Yours are WAY too cute, and those scents sounds amazing!! Hmmm, maybe a future product for your Etsy store??

  5. I’ve never been a candle person either, but my mom LOVES them so she gifts them to me all the time. I’m breaking down and starting to use them. There’s a pine scented one I really like.

    1. Haha, that is so cute! I have a place kind of like that near me. It’s called Bedford Village, and I went there on a field trip and learned how to weave a basket. I kept that basket for YEARS because I was so proud of it!!

  6. This is so cool!! I LOVE candles, but I have never made my own! I love you for drinking that creamer despite its expiration date…however the curdles might have been too much for me!! HAHA!! I’m sorry it made you sick!

  7. When I started making candles, I never thought that it would become an income-generating hobby. I suggest you try putting it in the freezer for two hours during the cooling to make it longer lasting.

Leave a Reply

