Microwave cornbread for one

I love chili. I really love cornbread.

My mom made chili for dinner the other night and I was the designated cornbread maker. It turns out that my family also really loves cornbread because the whole batch was gone by the next day.

This left me in a (first world) dilemma. I wanted to have chili leftovers for lunch but I didn’t have any cornbread to go with it. The horror!

So I made…….

Cornbread For One

Ingredients:

1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup cornmeal
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 egg white
1/4 cup milk
4 teaspoons oil
1 tablespoon honey

Directions:

1. Combine the flour, cornmeal, salt, and baking powder in a small bowl. In a separate bowl, beat the egg white until foamy and then add the milk, oil, and honey.
2. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until just combined. Use cooking spray to grease a microwavable bowl or (large) coffee mug and pour the cornbread mixture into it.
3. Cover with a paper towel and microwave on high for about 2 minutes, depending on how “done” you like your cornbread to be. (I like mine slightly doughy so I only microwave it for about 1 minute!)

Note: This recipe can be considered/used for two servings… but if you really love cornbread it is a bigger-than-normal single serving ;)

23 comments

  1. mmmmmmmmmmm I love cornbread too! my mom has a secret recipe cornbread and it includes shredded carrot and poppyseeds. it is amazing. we used to eat it with buttah and a lil honey!

  2. Ah, this is such a simple and great recipe! I’ll have to try this because Andy loves cornbread but I don’t–so I end up making a pan and tossing what he doesn’t eat after a few days.

    Thanks for sharing!

    I feel like I’m super behind on your blog but am going to go catch up on your recent posts now. Hope all is well, friend!

  3. Got this recipe frme a friend at work, It’s the bomb! Great for us single people! Checking out the rest of your blog,

  4. I decided to make stuffed sole at the last minute, and I needed some cornbread in a hurry. This saved me over half an hour!

    1. I’m sure you could use a whole egg if you’d like! I looked up a lot of single serving recipes as research for this recipe and most of them used egg whites, so I based my egg white usage off of my research. If you do make this recipe with a whole egg, let me know how it turns out!

      -Allie

  5. thank you sooooooo much for this!!! best I ever made! used oat flour, coconut milk, and apple sauce instead of oil :) no need to grease the pan (baked in a soup bowl in 3 minutes on the microwave)

Leave a Reply

